Thursday, August 16, 2007

So proud of myself!!!


This post is actually inspired by calabar gal, london buki, and vicki's weightloss blog. Last week i slacked on my diet. I noticed i had gained 3pounds over the past week(s). I could actually feel it. It was only 3pounds but i felt heavy and uncomfortable. So i decided to go back to the basics. Yes it would hurt but oh well..... Somehow i stumbled across London buki's blog and found some great tips. These girls started off not being able to run for 3mins and here they are running the 5k. Geezz!!!

Anyway that really inspired and i made a commitment to power walk and jog 3miles everyday of the week and watch what i ate to the "T", but guess what? i shocked myself....I found this nice but spooky 5mile trail close to me and power walked 5miles the first time and then alternated between running and walking..... I am so proud of myself...For you to understand my joy, i dont run for nada...as in i am so prissy, i amaze myself sometimes...but here i was running and breaking out a sweat and the funny thing was that i was actually loving it. By the end of the week, i had lost a pound. Not great!! but i am pleased with myself.. So now this week i am making a commitment to running atleast 3x. My roomate is even in on the 5mile thing.

Thanks calabar gal and london buki for sharing your tips. Because of your help i have been able to conquer my fear of running and i've fond something i now love to do.

Wednesday, August 15, 2007

I go love o!!!!!!!

This was shared with me. Can you imagine waking up every morning of your life with text messages like these from your significant other?



"Walk with me when your heart needs a companion,

Talk to me when you feel alone,

Trust me when the world says no,

Think of me whenever you need a true friend.

Good morning my dear, i miss you"



OR EVEN BETTER



"Your love is like the golden lamp of the temple,

Your pillar of love shines in the sanctuary of my mind,

In the rhythm of life we sometimes find ourselves out of tune,

I have found my tune in you my love.

Good morning and have an awesome day!!!"



Can you imagine? abeg me i go love jare.

Love is a beautiful thing when you find the right person or the one whom your heart is in sync with.

Indecent or not.....Trousers, pants or not.



Naija and some of the ridiculous things they do. They just amaze me sometimes. So my brother is in naija at the moment and in the one week he's spent there, you can only imagine the stories he's had to tell. The one i find to be rather disturbing is that of the recent law that was passed against indecent dressing. We were talking when he first got there and he was saying how naija girls no easy o, and a few days later he tells me they have passed a new law against indecent dressing...What mess!!! Who decides what is indecent or not. To make matters worse, they not only passed a law against it, you could be taken to jail and the only way you can get out is by a bail of 20,000 naira. Are you kidding me!!! I had a good laugh sha when i heard cos i feel for the middle or low class people. It would just be another way of cops or is it naija police now exploiting people. I just forsee females getting raped and harassed all in the name of the law. Naija never ceases to amaze me. Admitedly, there is a a problem wit the way some nigerian females go overboard with their dressing, but why do the nigerian government expend so much energy on irrelevant things and neglect the oh so important issues like communcation wahala, the poor state of the nation, better infrastructures for their citizens, better public school sytems, the unbelieveable rate of crime..I could go on and on as the list is endless..Na indecent dressing dem dey talk about....Rubbish!!! I hope they are not trying to turn nigeria to another iraq abi na saudi...This is just me rambling as i see this as utterly disturbing and nauseating.......

BTW...G.O Adeboye has banned workers wearing trousers to redeemed churches. I attend redeemed here and all i can say is thank God am not in nigeria cos i lurrrrrrrrrrrvvvvvvv my pants. I am secretly praying that this doesnt apply to the redeemed in the states, otherwise i am screwed. Heck!! 90% of my clothes are pants.. Ok OK i know i am biased but whareva......

Monday, August 13, 2007

I miss blogging

My gosh!!! I have missed blogging like crazy.. Not for lack of inspiration, but because other things have taken me away from my love for blogging...example crackbook.....
This weekend was mad fun...I went BOWLING!!!!Yep you heard me..I went bowling for the first time ever with friends from our young adult group. Honestly, i was skeptical about it when my friend LA called me about it, partly cos i was going to be the only girl there but on second thots i was like what da heck? i'll go jare and enjoy the attention.
So i got to brunswick late as usual (why cant i be ontime anywhere?) and it was akward initially. The guys paid for my shoes and socks and one of the guys BJ gave me beginners lesson. After 3 hours of fun. Yours truly came last after 2 rounds (yes o am proud of myself. I no try? atleast i commot for house).
Its something i would most definitely do again and again. It really nice to have gotten to spend time with the guys. On sunday after church, i went out to lunch with our pastor and his family and some other folks from church. That too was nice. Overall it was a relaxing weekend. Am not looking forward to this week though cos i'll be working 8days straight just to get the weekend off.